top of page

Vegan Recipe: protein quinoa, black bean, and kale bowl! Easy, inexpensive, and Yummy.

Updated: Jan 7, 2020

This is my favorite go to meal when I am hungry and there is not much in the cabinet. This is inspired by southwestern roots as I grew up in New Mexico and we pretty much live on rice, bean, cheese, avocado, and green chile. I will give the basic recipe that I came up with but there are plenty of ways to make it your own by substituting your favorite add ins. My favorite type of quinoa to use is the tricolor from Trader Joe's which is $8, but this can be substituted for any type of quinoa or grain. I use quinoa because it has lots of protein (8grams in a cup). I like to use black beans without any added spices and low sodium. If you are feeling brave maybe you can look up a recipe on how to soak and cook your own black beans. Canned black beans are cheap and packed with protein. I love to add in some dairy free cheese but that is optional. Let me know what you change up and how it tastes! I hope you enjoy!



Quinoa protein bowl

Yield: [2] (I usually make this amount for my sister and I but we also eat large portions)

Prep time: [5min]
Total time: [prep:5min + cook time:15-20]

Ingredients

quinoa | [1 cup]

water | [2 cups]

salt | [pinch]

pepper | [pinch]

onion | [1 small onion]

black beans | [1 can]

kale | [handful]

bell pepper | [optional: 1 can be a yummy addition if you have it!]

cumin | [optional: pinch]

Vegan cheese | [optional: however much your heart desires]

avocado | [optional: as much as you want!!]

hot sauce ;) | [optional: I love the green pepper cholula another option if you want to make it super yummy is to spice it with some hatch green chili which is available canned at Trader Joes!]

Directions

First cook the quinoa according to the package. But if you don’t trust the package this is how I usually make quinoa (sometimes it takes some trial and error). I boil a pot of the water and add salt to the water. Once it is boiling, I add the quinoa, lower the heat until the water is simmering, and cover for 15 minutes. Make sure to watch the quinoa and fluff it if necessary. Sometimes I find that I have to add more water if it has completely boiled down and the quinoa has not cooked yet.

While the quinoa is working its magic, I will sometimes satay some yummy add ins. My go to is a sliced sweet onion but if there is bell pepper available, I will slice it up and pop that in with my onion. Usually, I just satay them with olive oil but if I am feeling like a challenge, I will use water instead of the oil. Once the peppers are soft and the onions are translucent, I add in cumin, salt, and pepper then turn off the burner once the spices are fragrant.

In another pan I heat up a can of black beans. I add the kale to the black beans once they are hot so that it cooks in. Sometimes I add in the peppers and onions once they are done but if you prefer to keep everything separate then you do you boo.

Once everything is finished, I a scoop of everything into a bowl. I cut up avocado into it, sometimes I add vegan cheese, and I always love some hot sauce or green chili in mine but that is just a personal preference. Have a taste and add whatever you think it needs and then enjoy!

Special Diet Information

If you are not vegan or dairy free, then feel free to add in some cheese and if you eat meat then add in some chicken! All up to you!

0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page